5 Tips on How to Handle Stress

I struggle with a lot of stress sometimes as I am the type of person who loves keeping myself busy with tasks and setting goals for myself, but the stress comes in where I have too many tasks and goals set for myself that it gets overwhelming and I feel worked up. This type of stress can be so overwhelming that you feel like just hiding away from it all and at the end of the day you haven’t done any of it, which gets you worked up even more.

Stress can also build up when you feel too lazy to do something or you don’t have the time to do it. Some people learn bad habits when they stress, like biting they’re nails, taking substances that make them feel better, drinking,ect.

Here are the best 5 tips to handle stress:

  • Plan your day/week. There is this book called ‘The 5am Club’ by Robin Sharma, it’s a new book about why it is so important to wake up at 5 in the morning to plan your day. Start planning your day and make note of what is important first and what can wait, don’t overwhelm yourself with unnecessary tasks, it is so important that you make time for yourself too. Another book I know of is ‘The Bullet Journal Method’ by Ryder Carrol, that is said to change your life.
  • Learn to say ‘no’. If you are like me, saying ‘no’ to something that you are asked off is so hard because you want to make someone proud. I always say ‘yes’ to tasks because I know if I do it, it will be done and it will be done right(well hopefully). When I am stacked up with all these things to do I realize how I actually don’t have time for it all and how relaxed everyone else is because they are obviously more clever than me not putting they’re hand up for everything and not agreeing to everything asked of them when they know they still have things to do.

Start teaching yourself to say ‘no’. Even though you feel bad, just remember that people have to understand that you can’t be expected to do everything they ask and that you also need time to do the things you want to.

  • Try relaxation techniques. Do something that relaxes you like taking a walk to the beach, meditating, making a nice cup of tea and then sitting down and starting a task one by one. Find things that you can you to relieve stress. Maybe play music that relaxes you. Here is a blog that you can use to spoil yourself for one day when you are worked up.
  • Have a balance. Have a balance between your social life and your schedule. If you have to study for a test for the next day, don’t think that you can go to a party or to a friend and not feel stressed for the test. You need a balance if you know you write a test Monday then study Sunday and early Monday morning and go to the party Saturday. When you balance it out and complete a task and also make time for yourself and your friends, you’ll feel less overwhelmed.
  • Accept it. Don’t want to sound harsh on you but you have to accept that stress is a normal thing. We all stress and we all get overwhelmed in life. You have to know that all these setbacks, problems, work, it’s all normal and will eventually go away. Do what you can to move from it or doing things that make you feel at ease more.

Hope these anti-stress tips helps you because I know the feeling when you are so worked up and you just feel like crying. These methods certainly helps me when I get overwhelmed.

God will never give you something you can’t handle, so don’t stress

-Kelly Clarkson

Leave a comment

The life of Alex

Not your average teenage girl- musings; lifestyle; story times

Young Heart Wild Dreams

Insight Into My World ~ Creativity• Lifestyle• Advice

Completely Caila

Education, self-growth, lifestyle