How we fell in love…

I was grade 8 and in the middle of the year I decided that I wanted to move to a new school, it is a small private farm school, much different from the school that I was at before, but I liked it.

Walking into this classroom with 15+ new faces looking at me, knowing I was the new girl in the school made me want to hide in a corner. I introduced myself and everyone was very welcoming. I started getting to know everyone in my class, including this boy who attracted my from the first day with his smile, but you know I was grade 8, I was attracted to any boy with a nice smile, but to me this boy had the charm, he was confident, he was quite the class-clown too. His confidence immediately attracted me and like a 14 year old girl I wanted him to like me back, I was desperate and ran after him like a dog chasing food, I prayed to God every night that this boy would like me back and I googled ways on ‘how to get a boy to like you’. Nothing ever worked.

He wasn’t interested in me, he would sometimes flirt with me making me think I had a chance with him and then he’ll cut me off completely. He had feelings for another girl at that time and me being so in love, I didn’t let it bother me and I kept trying. I tried so hard to get him to notice me, I wondered why he flirted with me and then ignored me the next day, I kept asking myself over and over again,’why?’.

One day I saw him sitting on our classroom steps looking very upset, so I went to go talk to him to ask him if he was okay. He looked up at me and told me that the girl he liked was playing with his feelings and she didn’t like him as much as he liked her. I told him that it’s okay and that I am here for him, but he didn’t want anything to do with me, he just told me to leave him alone. I was broken, completely hurt that the boy I liked so much liked another girl. I burst out in tears and my teacher saw me crying and asked my what was wrong?. I told her the whole story and she told me that I don’t have to be sad, because he is only a boy, he thinks like a boy and he’ll get over her because it is only temporary. She told me that I shouldn’t be bothered and that a boy like that didn’t deserve me.

Her words hit me. It wasn’t worth it to cry over a boy that was making a joke of me. I opened his messages on my phone and I typed him a message telling him how we can never and will never be friends again and that I was tired of him playing with my feelings. Since that message I got over him, well tried my best to, but I never ran after him or waited for him to look at me ever again. I didn’t care what he was feeling anymore.

Weeks went by and school was normal,there were days that I wished he’d still like me, but I never showed my true feelings again. It was the end of the year and we could go get our reports from school, when I got my report he(the boy) walked past me and told me I looked beautiful in my dress(note that, that was the first time ever he gave me a compliment) and I blushed. That night me and a friend were going to a festival and him and his friends were also going. I kept myself cool, but I had noticed that he kept trying to want to come talk to me. He was hanging around me and my friends and soon all of us hanged out together at the festival. It was getting late and he was flirting with me the whole night. I was scared that I was again falling for him and that he was only just manipulating me again.

That night on the 7th December 2016 Louw asked me to be his girlfriend, I was shocked that after all this time he asked me to be his girlfriend, but I said yes and not knowing where this could go, I was up for whatever. My prayer was answered and Louw was my boyfriend, I have dreamt of this since I came in the school. Here I am now, still as in love as I was in the beginning, and that’s how we fell in love with each other.

Today I look at him and his smile makes his eyes light up, his laugh makes my heart beat faster and his heart makes my soul dance. I only fall more in love with him every day.

To many good night messages, many best dates, many adventures and to many more I love you’s.

x

2 Replies to “How we fell in love…”

Leave a comment

The life of Alex

Not your average teenage girl- musings; lifestyle; story times

Young Heart Wild Dreams

Insight Into My World ~ Creativity• Lifestyle• Advice

Completely Caila

Education, self-growth, lifestyle